Nissan Frontier Forum banner

What should I be looking for with a used Frontier under $10k, -125,000 miles?

2K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  Amikira 
#1 ·
Hi everyone, I am new to the Frontier world but would like to get one as my mechanic friend recommend them as good trucks and less expensive than Tacomas.

Mu budget is $10k or below. I have seen some nice ones online from private sellers, but they seem to go pretty fast if priced well.

Should I go with the older model before they did the body redesign? Or is the post redesign better? Should I avoid the supercharger?

I am also concerned with the rust underneath causing problems down the road with a 15-20 year old truck. I had a great Mazda 3 that had almost 280k miles on it but could't pass inspection last year due to rust on the unibody. i would like to avoid that in the future with my next vehicle.

I would be using it as a daily driver and light hauling of branches, construction materials etc from time to time. Gas mileage is important too

Thanks

#2 ·
Where are you located? Here in Southern California, you could get a gen 1 (pre-2005) for half that, or a fairly low mile gen 2 (2005 to current) base model.

Have you had a truck before? Even a second gen 4 cylinder 5-speed 2WD will struggle to get 23mpg. If that's not acceptable, you should rethink whether you need a truck or could use a car and an occasional $20 U-haul trailer.

#4 ·
I am in Pennsylvania. I should have also said that I need the Crew Cab with the 3 seats in the back for my kids.

I know I can't expect great gas mileage, but need the storage space for tools etc.

I guess what I meant is that I would prefer to avoid those Frontier models or years with lower mileage compared to other Frontiers. I read somewhere that the supercharger doesn't get good MPG for example...

#3 ·