Nissan Frontier Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
702 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am by no means an expert and have researched many 4x4 forums prior to my 22 P4X purchase. It's been many years since owning a "truck" again, but I have driven many brand pickup trucks over the years. That being said, I seem to notice a trend, especially with the "transmission recall" that members may be mistaking vibrations or shuttering in their rides for a transmission issue, when in fact it may be as simple as an unbalanced driveshaft or lack of grease on the splines?? Again, I am not an expert, but I have read on other forums that a slightly unbalanced driveshaft, misaligned (improperly shimmed), or an improperly lubed one WILL cause vibrations that people think its the transmission. I personally do not have any of these issues but wanted to start a thread for this on the new 3gen.
I encountered this conversation many times on the Ford Ranger forums. Many of the vibration issues were due to the lack of grease and/or an improperly shimmed drivetrain coming out of the factory. Sounded like a visit to the dealership was almost in order to properly shim em up.
Just an FYI post

·
Registered
741 Posts
Every brand of truck has some kind of vibrations in some form or fashion. every individual vehicle in that brand might not be affected, but you can go into every brand forum and read of vibrations. Many many things cause vibrations. Tires, driveshafts, etc etc etc. One will literally drive yourself crazy fighting this with the dealer, seriously! Been there.

I've owned a Silverado (Chevy Shake--look it up), F150 (vibrations, leaf springs issues, tail gate dance, wheel hop), even the 22 Frontier has a vibration (even in the steering wheel).

I will say that the 5th gen RAM does has a smoother ride due to the coil suspension, versus the leaf springs in other brands.