Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I have an 06 with a Nismo package and I was out earlier going for a drive up the canyon by my house. The road get fairly rocky and rough up a ways and on the way back i realized i'd never really tried out my hill descent control. I was in 4 high coming down a hill that wasn't really steep, but had a fair grade to it and I stopped and turned on the HDC and the icon by my gauges went solid like i should and I started down the hill. The HDC was definately working but when I let it get up a little speed say above like 6-7 miles per hour it would start making really weird noises, almost like a grindy type of noise that definatley didn't sound good, but then it would go away once i hit the brakes so it was only making the noise when i was allowing the HDC to hold the truck back. Is this normal? I have never used it before and have no idea how the system works so i have no idea, but anyone who can help i appreciate it :noworries:

·
Registered
816 Posts
Mine is quite noisy and took a little while to get used to. What you describe sounds to be normal. I wouldn't call it a "grinding", but more of a pulsating/pumping sound alternating between all four wheels or ABS.

Word of advice, keep it in control. I mean, don't get yourself into a position the system can't handle like in a down hill turn until you are more familiar with it and sure it is operating correctly. If the factory warranty is still good, take it in.

Read the manual, take your time and practice using it.

·
Premium Member
6,428 Posts
yeah otherwise yours friends will be running when your truck isnt operating correctly haha , that was definatly scary

·
Registered
148 Posts