Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all I recently bought a 2000 frontier 4x4 with a bad transmission has anyone tried to rebuild their own transmission instead of pricey shops any advice on manuals or videos to watch. Thanks

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,015 Posts
We have had quite a few posters seeking advice on overhauling engines and transmissions. Unless you have done it before and have the tools, learning how to do it in the dead of winter is not a good idea. The reman trannies are attractive but will come at a cost. With labor it can cost $4k. Is this too much to invest in a 20 year old truck?

·
Registered
900 Posts
Hello all I recently bought a 2000 frontier 4x4 with a bad transmission has anyone tried to rebuild their own transmission instead of pricey shops any advice on manuals or videos to watch. Thanks
Were Are You Located?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Im not a mechanic but know my way around tools and have a small machine shop at hand. Not scared to try if I have good information to start with. Im in florida panhandle

·
Registered
900 Posts
Quick Search on Car-Part.Com for 4x4 Transmission. All within 200 Miles of Tallahassee for around $600 or so. Relatively Low mileage, one only has 93k on it for $650
WIth Some of THese Junkyards THe Trans is already Pulled and On A Rack For You To Come Pick Up.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Quick Search on Car-Part.Com for 4x4 Transmission. All within 200 Miles of Tallahassee for around $600 or so. Relatively Low mileage, one only has 93k on it for $650
WIth Some of THese Junkyards THe Trans is already Pulled and On A Rack For You To Come Pick Up.

View attachment 326166
Thanks for the good information I haven't worked on truck like this in long time and didn't know where to look

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
What's wrong with the existing transmission?