Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2007 Frontier SE 4x4 and want to get a 19 to 24 foot RV trailer. The Frontier's rated towing capacity is 6500 lbs. The weight of these trailers is usually around 3500 lbs. Does anyone have any experience towing a trailer like this with the Frontier? I'm new to the RV world and really don't want to have to get a different truck.

·
Registered
307 Posts
Welcome to CF.

There's a lot that comes into play when towing a trailer. The info below will explain all about the class of hitch you'll need for the weight of trailer being towed, the hitch weight, the sway controls, electric brake control and so on.

Click here and download the pages. Nissan Towing Guide.

Towing a trailer is not bad. Controlling a loaded trailer while towing, and Stopping it is what counts.

·
Registered
1,271 Posts
There have been numerous posts, some that I’ve replied to already. I think a 4wd se cc is rated closer to 6100 pounds. I wouldn’t tow more than a 19 ft travel trailer, you don’t have the wheel base to properly control anything longer. Check the frontal square footage, you probably already exceeded the sq footage. Check payload, you’ll be close to maxed out. How do I know this? I have a 19ft travel trailer that weighs 3900 pounds dry.

There are a lot of ideas and thoughts floating around, take it or leave it, I wouldn’t tow more than 5000 pounds.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
There have been numerous posts, some that I’ve replied to already. I think a 4wd se cc is rated closer to 6100 pounds. I wouldn’t tow more than a 19 ft travel trailer, you don’t have the wheel base to properly control anything longer. Check the frontal square footage, you probably already exceeded the sq footage. Check payload, you’ll be close to maxed out. How do I know this? I have a 19ft travel trailer that weighs 3900 pounds dry.