Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I heard some weird sounds form my truck, it sounded like rod knock. I checked cyl 1, it seemed ok. I checked cyl 2, there was significant play. I suspect oil starvation a few months ago caused excessive wear to the rod bearing(s). I'm looking at my options now.

1. take the oil pan off and see if I can access all rod bearings from below with the engine still in the truck. There is a good 9 hours labour to take off the oil pan. I'm no pro so probably double hours for me lol.
-If my crank is damaged where the bearing rides, this will have been a waste of time
-If the rod that was knocking got damaged, this will have been a waste of time.

2. Remove the engine. I don't know what the estimated labour is for this task, but I could bring the crank shaft into a machine shop and get the bearing journals machined if the engine is out.

Other things to note:

I need a new throw-out bearing. This would probably be easier to fix with the engine removed.

·
Registered
3,167 Posts
My advice would be to pull the engine out.

Reactions: busemans

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Sorry to dig up this grave, but it's time I did something about this.

I am confident with my diagnosis of a bad rod bearing in Cyl 2 - but there is another symptom which I am unsure of. After the spun rod bearing sound occurred, I drove home and I tried inspecting the truck in my driveway with the engine running but it kept stalling. I had to start it up again sooner and sooner each time and rev the engine to keep it going.

Is the symptom of stalling sooner and sooner consistent with a spun rod bearing? If I keep running my engine like this, eventually the spun rod bearing will get jammed and lock up everything?

edit: here is some video evidence of why I believe its a spun rod bearing:

·
Registered
153 Posts