Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone!
I'm just about to hit 100k miles on my 2009 frontier. I wasn't having any issues, but figured it's time to change out the plugs for preventative maintenance. Its my first time swapping them out, and would REALLY appreciate some input!
I noticed the old plugs look very similar as far as wear, but the threads have some oily residue.
Theres was also some oil under the intake manifold... which is kind of making me freak out a little.
I attached 2 pics of the old plugs, and 1 of the engine with the intake manifold removed. I'm also seeing a couple of the intake ports are different darker colors.
Can anyone offer input about the condition of the old plugs? Why is there some oil residue on the threads and under the manifold? And is that something I should be concerned about? Is there a way to clean out those intake ports?

Any input is GREATLY appreciated!
Thank you in advance!

·
Registered
2016 Frontier SV CC 4x4 Automatic LB OEM
15 Posts
Hello,
The residue on the plugs looks normal to me for being original. If the ignition coil boots were soaked and swelled up and the spark plug wells were filling with oil then you would have a leak to be concerned about.

The oil residue in the intake ports on the manifold and the intake plenum happens naturally over time. Some oil vapors will be sucked into the intake via the PCV system and some will be deposited, which is normal.

I personally wouldn't try to clean the intake manifold ports without removing the manifold from the vehicle. Doing it with the manifold in place is pretty risky business. You don't want anything going in there if you can help it. Plus you aren't going to gain anything by doing it besides maybe a warm fuzzy feeling that a little bourbon could accomplish.