Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Silvrbreez in another forum has a thread that states something I found very interesting about are so called restrictive Y-pipe that I feel needs to be looked into a little further. Below is the link. I just want to see what everyone thinks about this.

http://p085.ezboard.com/ftunfsfrm4.showMessage?topicID=511.topic

·
Registered
2,776 Posts
I've read that as well, and I've also looked closely at the stock Y pipe when I had the stock exhaust off my truck. I still think the stock Y is a major bottle neck in the system. I've done a lot of research on the web into the dynamics of an effcient exhaust system, and everything I've read claims that effeciently moving exhaust gases from the engine out the tailpipe is what will increase power and fuel effeciency. I'm no engineer, and pitting these concepts into words is a bit difficult, but essentially what I've read boils down to having a system that uses the exhaust pulses to move the gases out of the engine. This is why too big a pipe has a negative effect because a small pipe opens into a larger pipe, the effeciency of flow is disrupted. Same principle applies to a smooth passage way, which is why companies use mandrel bent pipes, that have no buckles or other restrictions. I would guess the same principal would apply to other obstructions as well, such as a restrictive Y pipe. From what I've read, the most effecient system is one that uses the same size pipe (or just slightly larger) as stock and has a smooth unobstructed flow. I was going to have a custom muffler shop fab me a system using a Magnaflow Y pipe and MagnaFlow muffler to free up restrictions while using stock sized mandrel bent pipes. I haven't done this yet because I can't find a reasonablely priced muffler shop that does mandrel bent pipes. Plus, JBA has announced basically the same system I was thinking of having made, so I'm also waiting to see the results