Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

I'm loving my frontier but I'm not sure if I have a problem or I'm just a rookie as this is my first pickup.

Here's the problem. Quite often when it's just raining I'm finding myself skidding alot. The conditions of the skid are, I'm turning the wheel and apply some... Not a lot of gas. It doesn't happen when I emergency brake or brake while turning. It happens most when I'm going slow.

Today I put it in 4wheel high as well to test that and from a static position with my staring wheel turned it wheel spins with a lightest touch on the gas.

Am I missing something? The more I turn the wheel... Full lock it doesn't do much but wheel spin.

When I brought it in October from a Nissan dealership as certified with the 179 point check the tires where shown to me as almost brand new hardly worn.

I've checked the tires and there's plenty of tread although they are road tires.

Frankie's specs are, 2016 SL crew cab 6ft bed v6

It skids even with over drive off

I'm planning on having Nissan have a look but thought I'd ask around first

Thanks

·
Registered
54 Posts
If by skidding you mean spinning the tires, a rear wheel drive vehicle with not a lot of weight over the drive wheels will be prone to spinning in a wet road situation. I had the same issue until I recently got new tires. The spinning was greatly reduced.

·
Registered
118 Posts
All normal. Tires may look new, but what kind are they? Might be some cheap tires with really hard tread and not much grip.

Overdrive will not change any thing at slower speeds.

No weight over the back, plus on a tight turn you take even more weight off the inside back wheel, means it's pretty easy to spin the tires. Plus, the v6 makes some good torque, so that just makes it easier. take it slow, this isn't the same as driving a fwd car.

·
Premium Member
4,962 Posts
Hi all