Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone! This is my first attempt at an DIY on here so if I make any mistakes, please bear with me. Im still trying to figure out how everything works, but hopefully with a little help & a lot of luck, I'll eventually get it. Now, on to the write-up.
I installed an Bussmann RTMR auxiliary power system awhile back & have been itching to hook something up to it ever since. Seeing how I go camping now & then & always need extra light, I figured Id install a set of Rigid flush mount SR-Qs in the rear bumper. I came across a few problems with this install though. 1st is the newer trucks have rear sonars in the bumper, which I really didn't want to move or get rid of, & 2nd is theres not much room between the bumper & where it attaches to the frame. Another choice was to install the lights below the bumper, which I also didn't want to do. My last choice was to notch out a section of the frame to give me enough room behind the lights so they'd sit flush in the bumper, & I really really didn't want to do this. I'm very picky to the way I want things to be & to look when it comes to my truck. So, how to get around these problems. Well, I decided if I cant go into the bumper then how about out??
When I bought the lights I also bought a set of the 15 degree mounts. Rigid shows them being used on fire-trucks &/or ambulances to help with scene lighting. I decided to use them as thick 'gaskets'.

1st pic is of the lights & the 15 degree mounts or thick 'gaskets'.
[/URL][/IMG]

2nd pic is how I marked off where I wanted the lights to go. I took a metal ruler & laid it across the top of the two sonar detectors & made a straight line. Then found the middle of the line & marked it. After that, I took one of the gaskets, laid the top part of it along the line & traced out the inner portion to give me a guide to work with.
[/URL][/IMG]