Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just heard someone recently say that a popular mod is swapping in Audi R8 coil packs. Is this really a thing? They say the dyno shows +9hp and +15tq for all VQs. I would imagine that would eat the spark plugs? Anyone know about this?

·
Registered
256 Posts
I saw that too. I'm always skeptical of claims like that, but I'm far from an expert in these matters.

I sure wouldn't try it on a new truck however!

·
Registered
2,370 Posts
Do you have the link?

·
Registered
3,167 Posts
The other thing is, do we need better spark on the VQ engines? They seem to be doing just fine with what they got!

·
Registered
3,167 Posts
Yeah, because we're talking about ol' RB and SR engines. What worked on those engines may not work on a VQ engine.

·
Premium Member
5,621 Posts
What is "back to back" and what Dyno was this on? What is the +/- on said brand of Dyno?

Unless you are boosting an engine, I highly doubt spark is an issue with most engines, and if it was, it would be at very high RPM's which, we are NOT spinning.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I think he means he ran several tests in a row. He didn’t mention what dyno it was on. But yeah im a little skeptical about it. Ive been a euro car mechanic for about 7 years and never heard of spark being an issue on anything until this

·
Registered
12 Posts
Yeah that’s kinda what I figured