Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening all,
I will start by saying that I am new to the concept of a programmer/tuner. I know the general concept behind them but don't know what advantages they offer for a 2016 Pro 4x with a 6 speed manual. I have looked through the performance section of this forum but if I'm bringing up something that has been beaten to death, please let me know and send me a link where I can continue my reading. I don't intend to waste anyone's time.

Here is where I'm at... I love my 6 speed but I have always thought it was a little off. By off I mean that it is a bit of a puzzle to get a smooth shift routinely and it always seems as if timing the clutch and the gas is a bit of a guessing game. Almost like the throttle is inconsistent. I had similar issues with my first Harley but I was able to correct that by running 93 octane. So as an experiment, I started running premium in my truck. I'm on my 4th tank of premium and the shifting has most definitely smoothed out. The throttle is consistent and doesn't seem to lag. I haven't really noticed any MPG gain and I really don't care much about that as any change will be minimal. (My truck has about 12,000 miles on it)

I live in Northern Illinois and it is almost impossible to find ethanol free fuel so the only way to get anything decent is to pay $.70 to $.80 more per gallon. (Still contains ethanol though)

So here is my conundrum/question; I could continue to run premium but that will come at quite the cost; I drive a lot. But could a programmer increase the throttle response/consistency while running 87 octane? If so, it would pay for itself pretty quickly.

I do apologize for the long post and do appreciate any guidance from those who may know something about this.

·
Premium Member
7,125 Posts