Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone! I just recently traded my 06 6MT Xterra off-road for an 08 Pathfinder V8. Actually, the only vehicle of the three that I haven’t owned is the Frontier! However, the mods I'm planning for my Pathfinder track a lot closer to what you all are running than the Xterra or Titan people, so I'm here to soak it in, ask a few questions from time to time, and contribute as best I can. I worked as an ASE Master tech, BMW Master and MINI technician for over ten years so I know my way around a vehicle. See you on the boards.

·
Registered
494 Posts
Looking forward to your build. I was just on line looking for a clean V8 Pathfinder from 2011-12. May try suv camping in the Pathfinder.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Planning my suspension already as the suspension on the pathfinder is shot. We have IRS out back rather than a live axle. The plan in the rear is for Armada springs, which I’ve read are good for anywhere from 2-4” of lift (shooting for 2”), with the relatively inexpensive but adjustable Rancho 9000xl shocks and timbren pads. Titan swap with tundra struts up front, and eventually some nice remote reservoir 2.5” coilovers. Trying to decide if “phase one” of the front suspension gets aftermarket UCAs or not. I’d rather not spend that money until I can utilize that travel with coilovers or a nicer strut assembly. Discussion here:
Titan swap, lift, and coil bucket contact

Other near-future plans include:
1 - cleaning it up
2 - QX56 diffs with 3.36 gears (the five speed automatic behind the VK56 with 3.36s is like running a 4L80 with 4.56s in gears 1-3!!!)
3 - headers and complete exhaust with a tune
4 - build a lower mileage motor with cams and a VK45 variable intake manifold.
5 - Build the trans when the old motor gets pulled.