Nissan Frontier Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys,

I am new to this forum, but I was hoping someone may know something about replacing my o2 sensor on my frontier. I have a 2001 frontier with a 4 cylinder engine. Anyway, recently my check engine light has gone on, saying that my cat is bad. Well, upon talking with my friend he believes that this really is the o2 sensor after the catalytic converter.

So anyway I went under my frontier and I kind of took some pictures. I am not that good at mechanical things so I was hoping to get some advice about changing the o2 sensor. Anyway if you look at the first picture below it is the sensor which is plugged into my exhaust. I figure I can clearly take a 7/8 wrench to this and mechanically remove the o2 sensor without any problems. However, It is the electrical wires that gives me the most concern. The wire you see in the picture goes from the o2 sensor over a bar and then up through the chasis. In the second photo you see the wire with a sort of rubber like moisture guard before it goes into the chasis below my cab. There is no plug like connector anywhere that I can see. Is the connector hidden behind the moisture guard? I'm not sure what to do about the wiring and how to replace this o2 sensor. Can anyone help me out?

Thank you so much. If anyone can help I will be so much in your debt.
Kindly yours,
David:)

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
12,391 Posts
Welcome to Club Frontier!
If the second picture is a rubber grommet I imagine there is an electrical connect just behind it away from the elements. Go to Nissan Parts, NISMO and Nissan Accessories - Courtesyparts.com and look in the parts section as there is a picture with a block type plastic connector. A member with the exact answer will give input soon I'm sure.

Clint

·
Registered
570 Posts