Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello to all. I'm new here and I just purchased a 2002 CC, SC, Automatic Frontier. All was great until the transmission wouldn't shift out of 1st. Then when it did it was a hard one. Then shifts fair but won't shift into overdrive. With the ignition off I turn the key to the on position and the o/d light stays on for about 2 seconds then flashes 16 times. I read on here last night and came up with a speed sensor (revolution sensor) located in the transmission. I guess my question is: Am I on the right track here and how difficult is this to fix? Also is there something that I can try that may fix it. If you can explain in my terms I'm not a mechanic (I wish I was but I'm not. lol) Thanks for the help!

Well sorry to waste 18 of your peoples time by reading my post. I washed my engine off with water and engine cleaner and that threw a bunch of codes up and also the transmission problem. I put a fan on it and sprayed the connectors with an air compressor and let the truck idle for a while and dried it out. All seems good now. Thanks anyway!

·
Registered
109 Posts
I had a similar problem and it was the speed sensor. My speedometer died in addition to symptoms. The part is like $50 and located on the passenger side of the transmission towards the rear.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Blow dry!

Well I had a mechanic pull codes after they had been cleared and it flashed 5 different ones and he asked me if I had washed off the motor and I told him yes. He told me to use his squirl cage fan and let it blow on the motor and dry it out. I did this for a while and now I'm not getting the o/d flashes that I was getting. I hope this works. From now on I will never clean another engine off. I'm just a clean freak but not anymore under the hoods for me. lol

It didn't work. Still same problem. :censor::censor::censor:

·
Registered
3 Posts
Identicle problem