Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys i just have a question, would the Frontier be faster off the line with the over/drive turned off, and if so next time i race someone is it even worth turnning off? thanks for any feedback.

·
Registered
2,552 Posts
I am not a mechanic nor a drag racer, but it doesn't look like it would matter unless you
went far enough and fast enough to shift from 4th into 5th. On the other hand if you
are good at shifting it looks like you would be faster if you manually shifted the transmission through the gears.

I am sure that the automatic would be short shifting you, thus losing a little bit of peak
power in each gear. and at a point if you needed the overdrive you could activate it then. That is assuming it does not hurt to activate the overdrive at high rpm's.

Maybe someone who really knows will chime in on this for you.

OkieScot

·
Registered
2,963 Posts
Just hold her to the floor and don't look back,not unless your looking at them in the rear view mirror. :)

·
Registered
1,136 Posts
when you guys race or just want to haul *** do you just mash the pedal straight to the floor or constantly put pressure on it? say coming from a dead stop.

·
Registered
538 Posts
I turn off the VDC and mash it.

I thought my Nismo CC was pretty fast, but I would probably get torched by a 4x2 KC with a 6 speed.

Oh well, I guess I will start saving for the Stillen SC

·
Registered
50 Posts
Overdrive only allows the AT to shift into 5th. Most AT's shift pretty good as they are so don't even bother mannually shifting it. If you wanted to do that you should have bought a MT. Biggest word of advise from a semi-pro drag racer is to make sure you hit the trubo buton (aka: turn the air conditioning off) the AC can rob you of 20hp. Also, when I go to the track I see AT's whip MT's all the time due to mis-shifts. Just stick it in "D" and mash that pedal like ya stole it!!!!

·
Registered