Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I thought I would ask a few questions being I’m new to having an off-road truck and there are many knowledgeable people on here with years of experience.

My off-road experience has been limited to beach and some trails in Wharton State Forest in NJ with a Subaru Forester.

My questions are based around the transmission and what gears you stay in. For example, say your going slow over a moderate difficult trail or even easy, is it better to say in 4H and shift the automatic into 2nd or 1st gear or just go to 4Lo and stay in drive? Do you turn O/D off? I never really gave it much thought.

I’m curious how you utilize the transmission and different 4wd modes for different scenarios.

Thank you

·
Registered
194 Posts
... say your going slow over a moderate difficult trail or even easy, is it better to say in 4H and shift the automatic into 2nd or 1st gear or just go to 4Lo and stay in drive? Do you turn O/D off? I never really gave it much thought.

I’m curious how you utilize the transmission and different 4wd modes for different scenarios.

Thank you
Heya Mike, so 1st off I’d like to say how much I would love to take (& how much I would learn) a few lessons in off-roading. I haven’t met anyone in person, either, so I don’t even have that experience to learn from.

I say all this because IWhat the hell do I know?

You can leave your truck in drive with OD on if you want. I’ve never hurt sh!t that way. If your going slow, your truck picks the gear automatically. Never gets to fourth... never gets to fifth (OD), right? So wont hurt jack st.

Or... you can manually shift into a lower gear if you want, your rpm will just be a bit higher.

All this can be done in 4H.