Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any one else experience reluctant shifting on their 6spd MT? My'09 has been a bit notchy from new, and now with just over 5K miles on it there has not been an improvement. Occasionally it shifts like butter (or a Honda) but at least half the time I get quite a bit of resistance at the gates. No grinding so I don't think it's internal to the trans. For the skeptics out there I have been driving manuals for 30 years so it's not my technique. Is there an adjustment in the linkage that can be done? Yes I do plan to take it to the dealer but they are 1.5 hours away so it would be nice to give it a shot meself to save some time. Thanks for any assistance.

·
Registered
2,057 Posts
You can try using the genuine Nissan MTF in it. It made mine feel about 30-40% better than factory

·
Registered
354 Posts
I came from Hondas too and the Frontier is my first truck. I've noticed that if I try to shift it as quickly as I shifted my Hondas, it feels like you have to force it into gear. What I've learned to do is to just relax and shift a bit slower and everything is fine. It's a truck, it's a bit notchy, and it's just not going to feel the same as a Honda no matter what you do. Honestly, the Frontier is a lot easier to shift than my wife's SE-R Spec V is too! I've got over 11,000 miles on my Frontier yet and I don't feel like anything has loosened up or broken in. I'm thinking that it's probably a good thing that it feels just as strong as it did on day 1 with 21 miles on it.

You can try using the genuine Nissan MTF in it. It made mine feel about 30-40% better than factory
Wouldn't that be what they put in it at the factory? I doubt he has changed it within the first 5,000 miles.

·
Registered
2,132 Posts
... I doubt he has changed it within the first 5,000 miles.