Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there. I want to preface this by saying I am not a mechanic or a gearhead by any stretch of the imagination. But I do like to try to fix things myself, so figured I would post here and see if someone could help. I have been exploring the forum and have found a few posts that describe some of the issues I'm having, but either get a little too technical for me to follow or don't post the ultimate solution and result (leaving wondering what actually worked). If this is not the right place to post this, let me know and I will move it.

I have a 2009 LE Frontier. Bought private party about 2 years ago. The truck is right at 100,000 miles right now. There are two primary issues which seem related but I suppose could be separate issues altogether.

1. The first issue is a wa-wa-wa-wa sound that I get, only on highway speeds, and only when curving left. It's kind of slow, and low pitched. The sound seems fairly constant, meaning it doesn't seem to speed up or slow down based on my speed, but I'm not positive on that. I'm not sure exactly what speed this starts at, but I usually hear it at 50mph+. This problem was present when I bought the truck.

2. The second, and more worrisome issue, is a significant shaking that occurs. Seemed to get worse over that first year I owned it. This becomes noticeable at about 40mph, and seems at its worse at about 65mph. It still happens at 70+, but seems less noticeable. The shaking can definitely be felt in the steering wheel, though sometimes in the seat. I'd say the shaking is consistent about 70% of the time, but on occasion does seem to lessen for no apparent reason. Not only does the steering wheel shake, but it feels a little loose as well, if that makes sense.

Some additional info: