Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Frontier world. I have been wanting one for a long while now and I finally bought a 2005 Nissan Frontier LE. The rail on the driver side of the roof rack has faded or rubbed down to the metal in one spot. I would like to repaint them black or dark grey, but I'm a little confused on how to remove just the rails and not the whole rack. Any ideas? Has anyone done this? Also what type of paint is best to use? Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
1,466 Posts
only way is to undo the front 8 bolts, and unscrew the two screws holding the tubes in. Otherwise tape it all off, and prep and paint. Welcome!

·
Registered
1,466 Posts
Then, I guess you take the cross bar off and slide the rails out from the back, while standing in the bed? Thanks.
Nope. Opposite. Pull out the 8 bolts from the front mounts, and slide them out(toward the front of the truck)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Oh I see. Good to know. Thanks for the info. I'll let you know how it went as soon as I get it done. One last question: Once I take the bolts out of the front brackets, will this mess anything up i.e., nuts or something fall into headliner? TY

·
Premium Member
229 Posts