Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,591 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK,

I have been here for a few monts now. Dispite the issue Ive hade with my frontier, (rear diff and trany replaced under warrenty) I have a deep love for my truck, which is the first vehical that I ever owned that didn't look like I stole it from the junk yard! All of my past rides, you could see the road throught the floor! So I'm new to every thing about this.

Anyway there is just some lingo that I'm unsure of what it means

1) aal...?
2) when people ask about uca. Why is know one interested in the Lca? Dont you need both of the control arms?
3) Will just adding control arms add lift?
4) I have read that you shouldnt got past a 2 inch suspension lift on 4X4's. Why? (with spacers)

Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
8,525 Posts
1) aal...? Add-A-Leaf
2) when people ask about uca. Why is know one interested in the Lca? Dont you need both of the control arms? People only do uppers since that is where the coil-bucket contact is. Lowers are only done when you are going to be doing some more extreme offroading and mainly used when building a prerunner.
3) Will just adding control arms add lift? Nope, they are just designed with some different geometry to prevent the coil-bucket contact.
4) I have read that you shouldnt got past a 2 inch suspension lift on 4X4's. Why? (with spacers) If you go with a 3" spacer, your CV joints get pretty extreme and will cause binding and other issues.

This is also why most 4x4 guys that want more lift tend to go with a dropbracket suspension (calmini or fabtech) or a titan swap to keep it a little less involved.

·
Registered
2,591 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks! That helped alot. But he has diffrent answers then what I hear from other places. I want one more inch in the front. I currently have 2 in the front and 2 in the rear, and its not level. I hate that. But I heard 3 inch spacer in the front is not good.