Nissan Frontier Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can somebody recommend some hook that will work well on an 03 frontier crew cab?

·
Registered
1,821 Posts
could get some custom recovery points made cheap i think

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
As far as I know everything is stock.

I am talking about a front recovery point. I could make them, I am a certified structural welder. I want them to look good but function is important. I figure I could just hook to the hitch receiver as a rear recovery point.

Thanks for the help

·
Registered
578 Posts

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
could get some custom recovery points made cheap i think
My buddy at work said he has a pair of chrome ones I can have for free. I actually hate chrome so I will grind them down and Paint them. I should be able to fab something up and make them work. I will avoid welding anything to the frame. I will update this with pics as soon as I make some progress.

·
Registered
634 Posts
. I will avoid welding anything to the frame.
Sorry for thread jacking but why not weld to the frame ? Don't want to weaken it or just don't want anything permanent ?

·
Registered
12,584 Posts
theres not really anything other then the frame to mount them too. there is a small crossmember that runs between the ends of the frame, but i wouldn't recover anything with it, its not very strong.

·
Registered
1,351 Posts
Well I have a stock front. But here is a pic of my rear. I bought it at Harbor Freight for $9.99

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Sorry for thread jacking but why not weld to the frame ? Don't want to weaken it or just don't want anything permanent ?
I just prefer not to have anything permanent that I could make it bolt on if I could.

·
Registered
634 Posts
I just prefer not to have anything permanent that I could make it bolt on if I could.