Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
My wife and I have decided to become more active, so we will be purchasing kayaks. I will be using the factory roof rack on my '12 Pro4x with any additional equipment I may need to purchase (cross bars, etc.). The issue is I'm not sure what I need to make it work. I have saw several threads along with pictures of what others have done, but I am new to this and I can't figure what I need. I want to make it safe for 12' kayaks at highway speeds 55-70. The local lake is a 30 min to 1 hr drive from here depending which side you are going to. I also want to maintain the factory roof rack without damaging it in anyway. Could anyone point me in the right direction with pictures, part numbers, etc? Thanks!

·
Premium Member
68 Posts
I don't have a factory roof rack so I bought and installed a ladder rack to carry my vibe sg130. Having loaded and unloaded it from there once, I am now considering a trailer or a load extender that goes in the hitch. While the kayak weighs only 80-90 pounds, it's 13 feet long and awkward for me to load and unload by myself without damaging the kayak. -Just my two cents.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I don't have a factory roof rack so I bought and installed a ladder rack to carry my vibe sg130. Having loaded and unloaded it from there once, I am now considering a trailer or a load extender that goes in the hitch. While the kayak weighs only 80-90 pounds, it's 13 feet long and awkward for me to load and unload by myself without damaging the kayak. -Just my two cents.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro