Nissan Frontier Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
520 Posts
I had an 88 Toyota 4x4 w/a 22re that I ran a straight pipe on for a lil while. It smelled bad, ran the same and was a PITA at emissions time.

·
Registered
128 Posts
I'm still learning about our trucks, used to work on ricers a lot, but usually there are 02 sensors before and after the cats. You'd probably have to run 02 sims in their place otherwise you're engine will start running like garbage.

·
Registered
2,029 Posts
I'm still learning about our trucks, used to work on ricers a lot, but usually there are 02 sensors before and after the cats. You'd probably have to run 02 sims in their place otherwise you're engine will start running like garbage.
Hmm
O2 Sims?
Never heard of them.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Oxygen simulators. They replace your factory oxygen sensor showing the pcm or emc that everything is ok. Those O2 sensors report to the fuel management system, there's usually at least one upstream and one downstream of the cat. When you eliminate the cats, that will cause your sensors to throw codes and make your fuel management system go into a really rich or really lean mode, depending on the car and FMS. If you cut off the cats and replace your sensors with sims, then the sims send an "ok" reading to the fuel management system and everything runs smoothly. Most times I've ever seen anyone run sims, they usually have an independent or piggy back fuel management system also.