Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone done that? How was it? I search here and xterranation and could not find anything on the subject.

I am looking for a part time use of a CB radio for the 3 times a year I am going off road. There is a problem somewhere in my FM antenna and/or wire as if I turn the headlight on, I got no reception. I am still using the OEM rockford fosgate radio with CD (i know, i know, the '90s want it back :p) I dont want to swap radio as it is fine for my use. I was thinking of swapping the FM antenna for a CB one and then someday, add a AM/FM/CB splitter to get FM radio back.

The stock FM antenna is 2' 6''. I was thinking of a 4' fiberglass antenna with spring.

I am a total noob on CB. I read a bit and understand that the antenna makes the setup. So... There I am wondering what the heck I am doing XD. There is no shop nearby that are knowledgeable to help me. All they know is what sells...

Anyway, I am looking for help.

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Good Question, No Idea, I'm Sure the Jeep Forums have all these answers.
I search there and the issue is, jeeps and frontier are not the same trucks. They usualy suggest to install it on the rear bumper. I cant do that. For installing in the stock location, they also need a way shorter antenna. I have seen 2' on jeeps that were enough.

Bringing it back to the Frontier, I went to a local electronics shop and the guy there suggest me to use a metal whip instead. I am unsure of that but I am looking around now on jeep forum to see.

Thanks for the reply.

·
Registered
134 Posts