Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright guys, I've got a '99 2.4L 5spd with 175k miles. She runs pretty good, has never really left me stranded.

With that being said, I came across a steal a few weeks ago. Guy had a complete 2.4L motor and automatic transmission with 160k miles on it. He claimed when it was pulled it ran like a top, they just scrapped the truck and kept the motor.

It looks to be in better shape than mine. Oil is still pretty clear, not much buildup that I can see under the valve cover(haven't removed it yet just looked in the oil fill hole)

Anyways, since I feel like I've got a little bit of life left in the motor I've got, I'd like to tear this one down and do a rebuild.

I've never done it before, but I'm pretty quick at learning how stuff works.

Couple people have told me "I wouldn't worry about rebuilding it" which I understand. I'm sure she'd fire right up and run fine if I swapped it.

But I just want the piece of mind knowing that when the original kicks the bucket, the one I drop in is basically new, therefore I won't have to worry about it kicking out on me 30k miles down the road.

"Just buy another truck" a couple of people have said. Yea I guess I could, but I love that little truck and wanna keep it going as long as I can.

I guess what I'm really asking from everyone, can someone point me in the right direction as to where to get started? What do I need to know before I start? What all is included in a "rebuild"? I think they sell rebuild kits, but it would be awesome if I could just find a list of everything I would need so I can start getting stuff.

Now this isn't gonna be a 2 week project, I don't plan on getting in any kind of hurry, partly because I don't wanna drop a whole bunch of money into it at once, but mainly because it's getting cold. Too cold to ride fourwheelers....so I have nothing else to do when I get off of work lol.