Nissan Frontier Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
318 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I mean, I've taken it off road a little - nothing more than a spot near a creek...just enough to get a little dirt on it is all...

Anyhow yesterday I took it off road on a trail - I spotted a trail one day on my way into work, and decided yesterday that I'd see what's back there. Besides idiots dumping some stuff like washing machines and meth labs along with some big as hell bugs pelting my truck the whole way in and out (WTF? - at times it sounded like hail!) - it was pretty fun...lot more work than I'd imagined!

Since I was going solo, and had never taken my truck on any trails, and this one was much more rough than I thought it'd be, I took it SLOW and really used my ears, eyes, and the wheel to tell me if something wasn't right. I think the trail overall was about 1 mile long, lots of elevation changes, some pretty good sized bumps (good sized in my book is 6-18" - I'm a newb!) and ruts (that I tried to avoid, as they looked deeper than my tires would bite) and so on, and a tiny bit of mud here and there. Went in w/ 2WD, with something my Dad telling me years ago - drive in 2WD then use 4WD to get yourself out.

I have to say the truck does have a stiff/stout suspension, which IMO is a good thing (especially compared to my 97 Ranger I had before) - I never once hit anything underneath (except for high grass/weeds), and heck, this was my 2nd ever off-road trailgoing experience, and 1st time with this truck - so I wanted to make sure I do as much as I can right...

Once I hit the turn-around I put it in 4LO just to get some time with it, and it's amazing how much more you have to work with the steering wheel! Granted, terrain was dry clay w/ rock, so I'm sure that had a bit to do with it.

Anyhow, I'm impressed with this truck...seems to take everything you can (within reason) throw at it and it'll take it and ask for more.