Nissan Frontier Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,604 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally got them in. The Truetrac looks really cool. It's also a shiny heavy sob. The full setup-gears and Truetrac weighed in about 43lbs, most of it being the Truetrac. I'm getting them installed tomorrow by a local shop I trust and have had do gears before. I wanted to do it myself, but between the fact I've never done gears before and I don't have a dial indicator and a press i decided it was smarter to let him do it for me.
I find it interesting that the gears are a 4.11 ratio, not the 4.10 ratio often mentioned here. Don't know what brand it is, got them from a respected vender mentioned often on this site. But they have 37 teeth on the ring and 9 teeth on the pinion. They line up great with the Truetrac, so I can only assume and pray they are correct. Will find out soon enough.
Anyway, hoping this will finally allow me to hook up good and get my track times down like they should be.

Attachments

·
Registered
16,551 Posts
gotta get a light weight drive shaft at some point too

·
Registered
1,604 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The OBX's are doing great. Was just looking at them last week. Still a pretty chrome/blue color. No leaks, no corrosion. I know those new longtubes are pretty good headers, but I cant logically take off my nice equal length OBX's for them. I think these are a pretty good match for my setup.
About the light weight drive shaft-never really though about it. I'm truthfully not trying too go crazy into racing. Just making a powerful, fun, but also reliable truck.

·
Registered
770 Posts
As the most badass NA frontier you have to post NAST'Y burnout vids with the trutrack. The ones with you breaking loose in 2nd gear were killer, let er rip with the posi bro,

·
Registered
17,538 Posts
sub'd for droolz, good luck and enjoy RD :thumbsup:

·
Registered
1,604 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·