Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
341 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know Okie said he has resonators on his truck, figured maybe others do too. Could someone please explain exactly what it is and how it works....and cost if you know.

I have a 40 series flowmaster setup on my 06 frontier and it sounds pretty good outside, its just a little louder inside the cab than I would like. I know they said the resonator helps with noise, but does it affect the tail pipe sound as well?

P.S.- If anyone lives around Huntsville, AL....Worth Exhaust is a great place to have a flowmaster dual system installed. I am very happy with mine and the quality is outstanding. $260 including 3"x12" chrome tips

·
Registered
2,552 Posts
BudrBean,

Kinney's Muffler Shop called mine pre resonators whatever that means. I was told
they would not restrict the gas flow as they were straight through, but it would cut
down on the raspiness of my muffler which it did.

I was lucky in that they just threw the pre resonators in for free since they had never done that before on a Frontier and they wanted to make a sound clip of it. I think they
were somewhere between $30 and $50 a piece if my tired old mind remembers correctly.

OkieScot

·
Registered
2,552 Posts
BudrBean,

It is sort of hard for me to explain. If you are old enough to remember the old Belond
glasspack mufflers they had a nice mellow sound. The steel pack mufflers were usually louder depending on length and had a harsher more metallic sound to them.
It is this sharper metallic sound that I am referring to as raspiness.

If you have listened to some of the exhaust sound clips on the forums you will hear what I am talking about, sort of a snap when you let off the gas instead of a more
mellow burble.

I apologize for not being able to put what my ears hear into words.

OkieScot

·
Registered
341 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·