Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
354 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there an adjustment on the throttle body for the rpms when you start the engine? When I start my engine when cold, 2017 V6, it revs past 2000 rpms for a few seconds, when I restart the engine after it has warmed up, it doesn't rev like that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
My 2014 SV also revs high on a cold start.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
374 Posts
Is there an adjustment on the throttle body for the rpms when you start the engine? When I start my engine when cold, 2017 V6, it revs past 2000 rpms for a few seconds, when I restart the engine after it has warmed up, it doesn't rev like that.
Howdy partner! Mines only does the same if it has been sitting overnight. So every morning when I turn on the truck, it roars like a Wookie!::grin:: But if I start it up after that, it purs like Padmae. ::laugh:: . 16 CC S 4x2 Auto is the way 2 go!!!>:D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
178 Posts
Same thing on my 2006. 2000 rpm at cold start, much less at warm start. Does seem a little excessive though.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,448 Posts
It is normal and nothing to be concerned about. The ECU is doing its job.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,913 Posts
Is there an adjustment on the throttle body for the rpms when you start the engine? When I start my engine when cold, 2017 V6, it revs past 2000 rpms for a few seconds, when I restart the engine after it has warmed up, it doesn't rev like that.
ECM is programmed for it. Much better than my old GMC that would high-idle for 5-10 minutes while it waited for the block/intake/carb to heat up. Even on a cold winter morning (@ 10deg) she only high-idles for 30s-1min then settles down to a moderate idle till operating temp, which takes maybe 5 min or less driving and a bit over that sitting in the drive... the slide-rule brigade knew what they were doing. Only thing I miss from the old 22RE motor is that thing was nearly air-cooled. I ran it loooow of water several times with no bangs... won't find that with the VQ.
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top