1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
newbie here
got a question

sometimes when it hit the brakes if feels like the brake pedal pulsates
dont do it all the time just somtimes have taken it to a shop and they said they dont see nothing wrong

what do you guys think it could be

·
Registered
1,410 Posts
can you go into the situations that it has done this to you? and also is the entire truck shaking or pulsating with it or are you just feeling it in the brakes? also what year truck you have. the 2005 and up trucks have a very computer active brake system that monitors a good amount of things while braking, brake temp, individual wheel speed, overall vehicle speed, how fast you press the brake pedal, how hard you press the pedal, and if you have VDC it will also take into account steering wheel angle and readings from a G sensor. if the computer notices you press the pedal very quickly like one would do when they need to suddenly slow down if it thinks you may not have applied enough brake pressure (which people often do in that situation) it will increase the brake pressure to help you slow down faster. it will individually apply abs control to each wheel as needed, which you will feel in the pedal and here some grinding noises from under the hood from the pump, it can also redistribute braking force if it notices one brake getting too hot. there is alot going on if its a 2005 and up and if your not feeling the pulsing or shaking in the whole truck or steering wheel chances are is just the computer compensating for the situation and road conditions.

·
Registered
1,821 Posts
lol...brake temp sensor? uh...no.....doesn't have one of those.

·
Registered
1,410 Posts
lol...brake temp sensor? uh...no.....doesn't have one of those.
uh yeah it does

The ABLS system is always ON unless the
system detects brake pad overheating. If
high brake pad temperature is detected, it
will turn OFF, but normal brake function will
continue.