Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
2,696 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not sure if this is the right section for this but here it goes...

In the last 7 months I'm going on my 2nd new battery. The truck will usually start fine and then for a few days it'll start turning over weak then BAM its dead.

I have a feeling it has to do with all the stuff I'm running in my truck and possibly how its hooked up.

In the truck I have HID headlights, HID fogs, an Alpine in dash tv, 2 400 watt amps and 1 12" subwoofer.

I took a pic of how everything is hooked up to see if that would help. The big red wire on the left is the power wire to the amps and the small skinny red wire on the right is to the headlights for the HIDs.

Thanks for the help guys and hope I can find a solution.

·
Registered
250 Posts
I'll caveat my answer that I'm no electrical engineer....

But it sounds to me like you've overwhelmed your alternator (assuming you've got the stock Frontier alternator). It's rated at 110 amps (70A at 1800 rpm, 91A at 2500rpm, 110A at 5000rpm), and you might be sucking more power than the alternator can supply thus also sucking the life out of your battery.

I've never put in a high capacity alternator, but there are threads on here from people who have (they're not cheap though, although in the long run cheaper than replacing batteries every 3 months). Just do a search for posts with the word "alternator" in the title.

Good luck.

·
Registered
2,696 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've thought about something with the alternator being the culprit but I know plenty of people run the same amount of stuff as I do without issue.

·
Registered
1,537 Posts
ive run 1400w systems on a stock alternator and an upgraded battery for years without issues. im not saying its right tho. i use high output alternators where required and overkill the wiring with 1/0.

what kind of battery are you running?
what kind of hid kit are you using?