Nissan Frontier Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
579 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
To start off, I'll just say that I know how an axle works and basic knowledge of gears. I am a much better motor mechanic than running gear mechanic, so I need some help with this one.

I am working on a titan swap, and I am going to replace the rear end with a titan m226. I found one with 3.37's and an E-locker, but the carrier is shot. I want to keep it as a lockable axle, but I don't know what exactly I need to buy to make it operational again. I have found a couple of after-market lockers out there, but not quite sure what all I need.

If somebody out there (Roastbeef, Mike, Penski....) would help me with this, I would greatly appreciate it.

·
Registered
8,529 Posts
The carrier is the center part of the diff that houses the spiders and the ring bolts to. If that is shot, then I would imagine the diff is considered blown. They probably sheared a spider and it got chewed up in the ring/pinion.

The only thing you can do is replace the locker with an ARB or a TT. I am not sure the diff is even worth anything if you have to do that. My local will sell a blown diff for 75 from a Titan and 50 from a Frontier.

·
Registered
579 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
What about the spartan locker, will that work?

Also, I would be replacing the ring and pinion anyway and had planned to do a replacement locker. I just need to know what I need to get it going again.

·
Registered
8,529 Posts
To be bulletproof, the ARB is the way to go. I know the spartan uses the oem carrier and just replaces the spiders/side gears so I am not sure if your carrier is damaged, if it can be used again.