Nissan Frontier Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After months and months and months of wavering and researching, I finally bit the bullet and purchased the Koni 82 series from ADO: medium springs, no top spacer, add-a-leaf. I kept my OEM upper control arms and rear shackles: Alldogs Offroad Complete Lift Kit w/ Koni 82 Series Shocks for 2nd Gen Nissan Frontier

I want to thank Chad especially from ADO for helping me research and then troubleshooting late last night and even today on Thanksgiving with some tricky spots. I couldn't have done it without him.

Summary:
I watched every video I could find and read up as much as I could on how to install the kit. I have limited experience working on cars, having done a brake job and some rear shock work on a previous vehicle. I have a decent set of metric sockets and wrenches, a heavy duty jack, a low-profile aluminum jack, and some jack stands. I rented more jack stands, an electric impact wrench, and a sawzall from a shop down the road from me. I ended up not needing the impact wrench, and the Sawzall was used for about one minute total. I could've done the job with just two jack stands but four made it a bit faster. Six would've been ideal, with four holding the truck and two holding the rear axle. I used my two jacks on the rear axle instead. Per Chad's instructions, I did not keep the overload leaf in the back since he says the add-a-leaf compensates for it.

I did it all in my driveway yesterday and this morning. I ordered the kit from ADO on Monday and it arrived last night, in the dark unfortunately. I did prep work in the daylight yesterday of removing as much of the OEM suspension pieces as I could. I took my time and it went about 3 hours, as there was no rush since the new parts weren't even at my house yet.