Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking in the (2014-2016) year range for a "new to me" frontier. Wondering if they're are any known problems, advantages, or differences between these 3 years?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
554 Posts
I have a 2016 Pro 4x. I have had it a little over 1 year. No issues that I am aware of. There has been no major changes between a 2014,2015 or 2016 Frontier. The body style has been around since 2005. There may be some minor additions to the interior that I am not aware of. Basically the years in question, it is the same truck.

·
Registered
1,060 Posts
Admittedly I'm new to owning one of these trucks, but in looking into various upgrades, options, etc, it looks like in 2008 or so they revised the grille, headlights, and front bumper slightly (new ones are ~80mm further forward, or ~3 inches), and in 2010 or so they revised the center stack of the dashboard where the radio and HVAC controls are mounted, possibly revising the wiring to both as well.

It also looks like the radio change was the biggest change, where more trim packages had the color screen with Bluetooth as standard equipment compared to 2014.

·
Premium Member
6,065 Posts
TONS of info by year here:

https://ppg.nissanproduct.info

Big thing for me was that Nissan quit putting their 6-sp manual in KC trucks beginning in '16. In retrospect, SO GLAD I didn't wait a year to get my truck.

·
Registered
623 Posts
Yeah those years are all pretty similar if I remember correctly. 2013 there was some body changes I think like the rear spoiler tailgate cap.

·
Registered
2,430 Posts
I think in that range, '14-'16, you're out of the problems, meaning the trucks been pretty well sorted out. So if you find one you like in the configuration, with all the options and with the lowest possible miles you'll be in good shape.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-T337A using Tapatalk

·
Registered
795 Posts