Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, don't know for sure if this is the right place to ask a question.

I bought a 2013 Nissan Frontier Pro4, love the truck, but there may be an issue.

It would seem that whenever the headlights come on the temp control lights for the a/c temp control go out. This doesn't seem to cause a problem during the day but at night that's another issue. At night you can't see anything on the middle control panel to adjust temperature.

Does anyone know if this is the regular setup for the climate control; To be illuminated when the headlights are off, but when the headlights are lit this panels is supposed to go off?

The salesman said that's the way they work along with the guy at service. I find that hard to believe.

I've searched here at Club Frontier and it didn't come up on any previous discussions. I'm still new to this so trying to find my way around.

Any and all input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,816 Posts
Typical stealership quality/attitude!
No it's not correct.
When the headlights are off do all the climate panel lights work?
Could be a bad ground?
Good luck.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes, when the headlights are off, the panels is lit up. When the headlights come on, that whole panel goes black.

·
Registered
216 Posts
Hmm,

The instrument panel/control lights dim when the headlights come on to minimize nighttime glare. I have heard of the instrument or control panel lights going completely out if the instrument/panel light dimmer is set very low (on other vehicles, haven't checked the Frontier).

Therefore, if you haven't done so already, check your instrument cluster dimmer setting. Start the engine, turn on your lights, turn up the dimmer, turn on the A/C, then turn on headlights and see what happens.

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
364 Posts
Hmm,