Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I'm new to the Frontier world and absolutely love my truck but am already trying to digest a problem causing rough idle and misfire.

I am the second owner of a 2007 Nismo w/6spd manual with abt 162K on engine. Previous owner took immaculate care and put in a 4in lift and did the front end Titan axle mod. It's been driving great until abt 2 weeks ago when it threw a SES while driving on the highway. Didn't notice any change in engine performance but took it to Autozone to pull a p0430 code. Granted the cats are stock and at 162K not surprising that they want to be replaced. Had them clear code and added it to the growing to do list thinking it wouldn't be a huge problem and I could attend to it sometime in next cpl months.

1 week later I was driving uphill and the engine lost power momentarily and the SES light flashed for about 30 seconds with rougher engine performance. It cleared a few minutes later and engine returned to normal operation. Then Last week I was out of town on work and had my wife drive the truck to Nissan dealer for an inspection and as she was driving it did the same SES flash and chugged on performance. They pulled both a p0300 and p0430 code. They think i need new spark plugs before worrying about the cats but the plugs only have 60K on them and I'm not paying $450 (yes they quoted $450!) to have spark plugs replaced to find out it was actually the cats that needed to be replaced!