·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Just won a auction
2002 Frontier S/C V6 110,000 miles.

RE: Timing Belt-- Recommended change interval 105,000 miles / 84 months

I am presuming the timing belt has not been changed.
After reading the sticky on the subject (all 25 pages) last night,

I can't remember seeing if the condition of the belt is easily inspected.
Would someone tell me if the condition of the belt can be inspected on a pre-purchase ? THANKS

I live about 700 miles from PA and don't want to risk the trip if the belt is sketchy.

Also, Is there any other suggested areas that are problematic on the S/C supercharged 3.3L motors
that should pay special attention to?

Obviously, I will check for rust, engine codes, blow-by, compression but not being a mechanic myself,
I hope any suggestions that I can pass along to a shop that I am going to hire to a pre buy would help.

Thanks in advance to all.

Bob

·
Registered
2017 Pro-4X w/Luxury Package
953 Posts
Pretty positive you cannot inspect it without some disassembly. Unless there's documentation that it's been changed, assume it hasn't and use that as a bargaining chip in your negotiations. A dealer will be around $1000 for the entire job (belt, water pump, seals, etc.) so use that info to see what you can knock off the price.

Other than that, not sure about S/C specific things to look at.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks

Pretty positive you cannot inspect it without some disassembly. Unless there's documentation that it's been changed, assume it hasn't and use that as a bargaining chip in your negotiations. A dealer will be around $1000 for the entire job (belt, water pump, seals, etc.) so use that info to see what you can knock off the price.

Other than that, not sure about S/C specific things to look at.
Red, Doctor

OK, thanks…

I'll do some 'you tube' lurking, maybe I'll find it.
Leave at 3:30am to catch my flight to Philly.

much appreciated

·
Registered