Nissan Frontier Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey I'm new to all this and I have a 2002 supercharged frontier and I love the look of it so much but I wish it had as good of hp as the 2005 and up ones. I dont think people really try to get hp out of these trucks and I dont want a ton but it would be nice to at least match some newer midsized pickups. Are there any upgrades or mods that would be good and how much hp will they give me?

·
Registered
197 Posts
I followed this by curiosity, but sadly the VG33 engine was not a performance engine. The KA24 was in the 240sx so there is a ton of mod you can do. I believe there is some cams from the 300zx that fit the VG33. I don't know if they are recommanded for the S/C engine.

You may like these videos:
Cam from Z31 (300ZX)

Was it worth it:

Hope it help you a bit

·
Registered
144 Posts
210 hp. Check your codes and make sure you don't have a bad knock sensor. Common problem and it will drop boost to nothing. You can put on a smaller pulley, headers, cold air intake, exhaust, and possibly cams. With the smaller pulley, they run pretty good. My 4x4 with 32"s and a 2.3" pulley and cold air intake is pretty good on power. It's no V8 though.

·
Registered
660 Posts
Get a smaller pulley or just get a Boost Controller that you can manually bump the boost up to like 8-12 psi. The factory setup is set to dump boost at like 4psi i believe but maybe its 8.Get A Boost Gauge And You Find Out Exactly What Your Setup is Putting Out. You get 230hp out of the VG33E just by doing that.

Add Some Cams like these from Jim Wolf and get another 10-15 HP. With A SuperCharger set to run with higher boost than factory, Cams, and Get some Headers, you could very well get 250 Horse Power.