Oil Changes and Warranty - Page 2 - Nissan Frontier Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-14-2017, 01:35 PM
Shift_Enthusiast

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am in the same boat as the OP. I drive less than 7,500 miles per year. Many times when I hit 6 months I had 2,500 to 3,000 miles on the oil. I changed it at 6 months. Which means I change the oil twice a year. That is not going to break the bank. I do have short trips (less than 5 miles), and once a month a good 2 hour drive on the highway. I tend to keep vehicles 8=10 years. Changing the oil twice a year is just my way of trying to keep the engine in good condition. Have done this pretty much with all the vehicles I have owned.

I am not a lawyer, but the manual says x miles or 6 months. If I have not hit the miles, I go by the time.

2016 Pro 4x CC, Silver
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #12 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-14-2017, 01:53 PM
Shift_Enthusiast

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Rob, the info you provided speaks quite clearly and I should not have spoken with blanket coverage as I've not read Nissan's verbatim; I spoke from issues dealt with long ago.... Though I doubt they would hold such a cut and dry line I'd make effort to ask a Service Manager and see what kind of answer I could get directly from Nissan.

T CRO
2016 SV-VTP CC/LB 4X4 V6/AUTO
post #13 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-14-2017, 02:19 PM
Shift_Obsessed
Lifetime Member

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Quoted: 868 Post(s)
Thanked 1,146 Times in 742 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by teecro View Post
That right there where I stand, how many true oil related failures can you honestly say you are fully aware of? Oil related issues are all but nonexistent...