Nissan Frontier Forum banner

Dashcam -- Legal Concerns

4K views 33 replies 13 participants last post by  upflying 
#1 ·
I'm not a lawyer, just someone who has been intrigued by the number of threads for dash cams lately.

I'm curious if y'all have read up on your local laws about what can and can't be done with dash cams. A quick look brings up concerns of whether or not your own footage can be used against you (in the case where you are at fault in an accident). Also, whether or not (varies by state) you can record audio of another person w/o their consent.

I'm not pinging your dash cam installs or the idea behind them (it actually seems like a pretty good thing to me), I'm just curious if everyone is aware of the good and bad aspects.

#2 ·
I'm not a lawyer, just someone who has been intrigued by the number of threads for dash cams lately.

I'm curious if y'all have read up on your local laws about what can and can't be done with dash cams. A quick look brings up concerns of whether or not your own footage can be used against you (in the case where you are at fault in an accident). Also, whether or not (varies by state) you can record audio of another person w/o their consent.

I'm not pinging your dash cam installs or the idea behind them (it actually seems like a pretty good thing to me), I'm just curious if everyone is aware of the good and bad aspects.
I have a friend who is a truck driver and he mentioned this very thing.

#3 ·
Here in Canada you can record video/audio, secretly, as long as one of the people in the recording is aware of it.

So if I wanted to catch you saying something and record it, I could.

The law only specifies what you can do with the recording after the fact.