How to learn new tpms sensors? - Nissan Frontier Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 05-14-2010, 08:50 PM
Shift_Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How to learn new tpms sensors?

I was told by the dealer that if I put different rims on my 2010 CC with different tpms sensors, they have to re-program the truck to the new sensors. They want 1/2 hour labor each time. I want to get a set of winters and rims for the truck.

Does anyone know how to do this without using the dealer?

Thanks.
2010 CC Pro4x
eanx32 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 (permalink) Old 05-14-2010, 10:05 PM
Shift_Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tampa Bay, Fl.
Posts: 378
Thanks: 34
Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by eanx32 View Post
I was told by the dealer that if I put different rims on my 2010 CC with different tpms sensors, they have to re-program the truck to the new sensors. They want 1/2 hour labor each time. I want to get a set of winters and rims for the truck.

Does anyone know how to do this without using the dealer?

Thanks.
2010 CC Pro4x
There is no other way. The dealer is the only one who can wake up the new sensors and program them. Why not use all season radials year round? Or chain them up if things get really bad. Unless you're mandated by law where you live to run winter tires, I would just put the winter wheels on without the TPMS sensors, and live with the dash indicator being on through the winter.
nissanmadness is offline  
#3 (permalink) Old 05-14-2010, 10:12 PM
Shift_Obsessed
 
Devius1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 2,129
Thanks: 43
Thanked 79 Times in 75 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I believe this thingy could...

^more info..
-TPMS-tool.com/TPMS-tool-ATEQ-quickset.php
-Clubfrontier.org/forums/f78/getting-tpms-reprogrammed-53011/index5.html

2/08 prod. 4x2 KC Nismo
Autometer-Ballistic-Borla-Bosch-Clifford-CST-DDM-Deaver-DEI-Energy Suspension-Escort-Goodridge-Goodyear
Hawk-Hella-Hellwig-HiLift-Hirshmann-Interco-K&N-Madico-MonsterCable-NISMO/Nissan-Piaa-PRG-R1-Radflo
Razo-Royal Purple-Schroth-Shrockworks-Superchips-Uniden-Viair-Volant-WhiteRhino-Wilson-Xpel


Last edited by Devius1; 05-15-2010 at 01:17 AM.
Devius1 is offline  
#4 (permalink) Old 05-14-2010, 10:28 PM
Shift_Hardcore
 
devious1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: somewhere
Posts: 1,261
Thanks: 29
Thanked 57 Times in 52 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by nissanmadness View Post
There is no other way. The dealer is the only one who can wake up the new sensors and program them. Why not use all season radials year round? Or chain them up if things get really bad. Unless you're mandated by law where you live to run winter tires, I would just put the winter wheels on without the TPMS sensors, and live with the dash indicator being on through the winter.
The all season tires is what I would say but I don't know anything about living in the north if that is where you are from because in Texas any tire does fine for us. The two days it snows here most people take off work. And as far as I know this is correct about the dealer, you have to pay those sob's to do anything with the TPMS system. I have not found a reset procedure yet and this is why I am just doing away with the system all together. With a 2010 you're pretty much screwed and have to fix it. You may find a tire shop that can reset it but it is unlikely, at least nobody in my area knows how.

Last edited by devious1; 05-14-2010 at 10:30 PM.
devious1 is offline  
#5 (permalink) Old 05-14-2010, 10:46 PM
Shift_Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the quick response.
Because we get crazy weather through the winter, and I have situations where I have to go on the road regardless of condtions. I usually run A/T in the summer and dedicated winters in the winter. I may just have to find a set of A/Ts that are good in the snow.
Thanks again.

2010 CC Pro4x
eanx32 is offline  
#6 (permalink) Old 05-15-2010, 12:36 AM
Shift_Obsessed
 
Devius1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 2,129
Thanks: 43
Thanked 79 Times in 75 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
^post fixed.
I have no experience with it but it seems simple enough.. @ $135?

2/08 prod. 4x2 KC Nismo
Autometer-Ballistic-Borla-Bosch-Clifford-CST-DDM-Deaver-DEI-Energy Suspension-Escort-Goodridge-Goodyear
Hawk-Hella-Hellwig-HiLift-Hirshmann-Interco-K&N-Madico-MonsterCable-NISMO/Nissan-Piaa-PRG-R1-Radflo
Razo-Royal Purple-Schroth-Shrockworks-Superchips-Uniden-Viair-Volant-WhiteRhino-Wilson-Xpel

Devius1 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Devius1 For This Useful Post:
nissanmadness (05-15-2010)
#7 (permalink) Old 05-15-2010, 07:02 AM
Shift_Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tampa Bay, Fl.
Posts: 378
Thanks: 34
Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devius1 View Post
^post fixed.
I have no experience with it but it seems simple enough.. @ $135?
WOW, this one is new to me. I'm going to look into it. I've heard horror stories about some of these generic tools, due to limitations. But it would be nice to DIY. Thank's for the heads up, Devious1!
nissanmadness is offline  
#8 (permalink) Old 05-15-2010, 09:24 AM
Shift_lurker
 
drivesolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I bought a set of wheels & tires that came off of an '05 Pathfinder, from my understanding they were the same TPS's used in all Nissan light trucks. I had them on for about a week, all seemed fine and then the tire warning light came on. Checked tire pressures, they were alright. I figured that one of the TPSs was bad and just lived w/ it for about a year. Then the time came for my 30k service, when I got the car back the tire warning light was gone. Awesome! Then about a week later the tire warning light came back on, tire pressures were okay. Whatever the dealership did, it wasn't permanent.

2006 Nissan Frontier, Super Black, SE, Crew Cab, Auto, 4x4
drivesolo is offline  
#9 (permalink) Old 05-15-2010, 09:47 AM
Shift_Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tampa Bay, Fl.
Posts: 378
Thanks: 34
Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by drivesolo View Post
I bought a set of wheels & tires that came off of an '05 Pathfinder, from my understanding they were the same TPS's used in all Nissan light trucks. I had them on for about a week, all seemed fine and then the tire warning light came on. Checked tire pressures, they were alright. I figured that one of the TPSs was bad and just lived w/ it for about a year. Then the time came for my 30k service, when I got the car back the tire warning light was gone. Awesome! Then about a week later the tire warning light came back on, tire pressures were okay. Whatever the dealership did, it wasn't permanent.
My understanding is that new TPMS sensors have to be the same part# and series as the original TPMS sensors that came with the vehicle. Being that they work on RFID frequency, there may be a communication issue with the BCM. There are different TPMS sensor part #'s from Nissan. I can't imagine all of them working on all applications, as some send more information than others. I.E... tire pressure, tire position, tire temperature, etc... Later model BCM's may not communicate with earlier type TPMS sensors. So you got to be careful in that respect.
nissanmadness is offline  
#10 (permalink) Old 05-15-2010, 11:10 AM
Shift_Fanatic
 
chaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 703
Thanks: 14
Thanked 22 Times in 20 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by eanx32 View Post
I was told by the dealer that if I put different rims on my 2010 CC with different tpms sensors, they have to re-program the truck to the new sensors. They want 1/2 hour labor each time. I want to get a set of winters and rims for the truck.

Does anyone know how to do this without using the dealer?

Thanks.
2010 CC Pro4x
think i read all the responses ,but why cant you just transfer the sensors to the new rims(each time),this has been written up before,unless you plan on changing the wheels/tires at the end of the season,then again why cant the light bulb be taken out of the socket,it really would not bother me,we used to live without these things/remember a little tool called a pressure gauge.

Last edited by chaz; 05-15-2010 at 11:12 AM. Reason: after thought
chaz is offline  
Reply

  Nissan Frontier Forum > Mods and Technical Discussions > Wheels, Tires, and Brakes

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Nissan Frontier Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On