Cortex question - Nissan Frontier Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2012, 12:11 PM Thread Starter
Shift_lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cortex question

Will the tuner need to be plugged in at all times or, can you load a tune and unplug the unit, my thought is that the truck is now running through the device? Just received my Cortex and have done all the registration and updating, maybe this will become apparent to me when I use it but I thought I'd ask.
DR-3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2012, 12:28 PM
Shift_Hardcore
Lifetime Member
 
HightecRednec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 1,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Thanks: 285
Thanked 204 Times in 168 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
You can unplug it when you're done tuning. There are some other features that require it to remain plugged in though for them to work, such as data logging.

Sent using AutoGuide App

2007 CC LE 2wd - Sold
Mods
-Volant CAI - 2" Daystar Spacers - Old Man Emu Medium Duty Leaf Packs - 32" General Grabber AT2s - Extang Trifecta - Xoskel Bumper Mouth Bracket - Rigid Industries LEDs (x4) - Morimoto Mini H1 Projector Retrofit - Some Plasti-Dip here and there

2013 Xterra S 4x4
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcDef View Post
I have the same truck as you and am experiencing acceptable blowing.
HightecRednec is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2012, 12:52 PM Thread Starter
Shift_lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, thats nice to know I was thinking of ways to hide the wire and perminantly mounting the thing. Most likley I will probably stick to the generic tunes. Looking forward to seeing how it improves the performance.
DR-3 is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2012, 06:12 PM
Shift_Obsessed
 
dubie2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 8,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Thanks: 854
Thanked 603 Times in 525 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
You do not have options for full custom tunes, all you can do it bump the timing, idle rpm, redline rpm and WOT. All other options are basically set.

Only words of advice is to ensure you have good battery when you do the tune since the truck is in the 'ON' position but not actually running. If it dies during the transfer, you may brick your truck.

I just did mine last night with the 91perf and WOT restriction disabled. Will have more of an opinion on my way home from work but so far seems more responsive. Now I just wonder if I will have problems if I run 89oct time to time?

07 SE CC Auto
dubie2003 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-12-2012, 11:21 AM Thread Starter
Shift_lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah I've been waiting for the weekend to set it up, so I have some time if something gets scrambled. Read somewhere about the battery strength being an issue or a large draw when the ignition is on. Hope I don't say I should have bought an exhaust instead. Think this is a better bang for the buck.
DR-3 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-12-2012, 12:15 PM
Shift_Obsessed
 
dubie2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 8,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Thanks: 854
Thanked 603 Times in 525 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Depending on cost, it can defiently be a bigger bang for the buck.

If you have a battery tender, it would be ideal to hook that up first just in case. Or make sure you tune just after driving for a bit so everything is at operating temp and the battery is a peak life instead of trying to tune first thing in the AM after a cold night.

07 SE CC Auto
dubie2003 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-12-2012, 12:21 PM
Shift_Hardcore
 
goody's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 244
Thanked 154 Times in 122 Posts
Garage
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubie2003 View Post
I just did mine last night with the 91perf and WOT restriction disabled. Will have more of an opinion on my way home from work but so far seems more responsive. Now I just wonder if I will have problems if I run 89oct time to time?
I think the ECU would adjust and retard the timing a bit due to lower octane.

2006 Storm Grey CC LE, Traded
2014 CC SV Glacier white w/value package
Tan Colored Weathertech digital floormats for sale (front and back for CC)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BRUTAL View Post
well we dont have a RTFM icon around here.
goody is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-12-2012, 10:11 PM Thread Starter
Shift_lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the info going to set it sometime this weekend. I'll post back just to give my 2cents.
DR-3 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-17-2012, 03:07 PM Thread Starter
Shift_lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Got the cortex installed no probs everything went smooth. Can definitely feel an improvement with throttle response, and thatís on the 87 tune. Going to try the 91 tune, problem is I'm sure I'll be spending more on gas.
DR-3 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-17-2012, 06:01 PM
Shift_Fanatic
 
JaydenH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 80
Thanked 69 Times in 58 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by DR-3 View Post
Got the cortex installed no probs everything went smooth. Can definitely feel an improvement with throttle response, and thatís on the 87 tune. Going to try the 91 tune, problem is I'm sure I'll be spending more on gas.
Oh you will. On my Performance Uprev tune I can drive a mile and 2-3 miles come off my DTE gauge.

On a side note, in my economey tune I can drive 5 miles and only 2-3 come off. But that tune is no fun.

2006 Nismo KC 6-Speed
--UPREV--K&N FIPK--OBX HEADERS--XTP IMS--PRG Mini Lift--Custom Exhaust--Secondary Cat Delete--Amsoil Driveline Fluids--SICK>SPEED Oil Catch Can--

My Truck : http://www.clubfrontier.org/forums/f...s-nismo-71105/
JaydenH is offline  
Reply

  Nissan Frontier Forum > Site Sponsors > Superchips

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Nissan Frontier Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On