LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-23-2011, 05:51 PM Thread Starter
Shift_Enthusiast

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
diy clutch replacement on 06 frontier 4x4

Here’s my diy on how to replace clutch. Through all my trial and error I found out this is the easiest way to get the tranny out and in. It wasn’t fun and a real pain at times. If anyone has anything to add i will edit it in.. I Don't have any pics right now but mabye i can put some together.

Disclaimer – This information is for reference only, I am not a mechanic and not responsible for anything if you decide to try it. Do at your own risk.

1. Place the truck on jack stands. 20” and above of clearance from the bottom of step rails works best.

2. Disconnect Battery

3. Remove both front tires

4. Remove the tire wells on both sides. They are held on by plastic push pins, and one screw that also holds the mud flap.

5. Remove The Heat shield on both headers. There are 3 bolts that hold it on the manifold. Mine were so corroded that I had to use my air hammer to remove. I then threw it in the trash.

6. Remove the 3 nuts holding the cat to the headers. The top nut you can get to underneath the car, but the other two are facing towards the front of the car. A couple of long extensions with swivels and you should be able to get them off. You might have to heat them with a torch and spray them down with PB break. Also some other guys here were able to just unbolt the headers and take it out in one piece. I wasn’t going to chance it since the corrosion was so bad.

7. unplug all 4- 02 censors , and remove the brackets. The lower brackets are on the transmission and the upper two are located on the engine block.