Camper shell brake light - Nissan Frontier Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 06:29 PM Thread Starter
Shift_lurker
 
OV3REASY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Camper shell brake light

I want to hook up the brake light on a recently purchased used camper shell to my 2005 Frontier, and I would like to do it myself.
Could anyone give me some pointers?
Can I splice the wires directly into the brake line, or maybe the license plate light? What are my options?
Thanks
OV3REASY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 06:57 PM
Super Moderator
Shift_Obsessed
Lifetime Member
 
Zedbra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Squamish, British Columbia
Posts: 8,411
Thanks: 2,798
Thanked 2,335 Times in 1,478 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
The licence plate light will only turn on the light with your hradlights on. Tap into your brake lines, use an in-line fuse with a plug so that you can easily take your canopy off. here's mine:

Zedbra is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 12:58 AM Thread Starter
Shift_lurker
 
OV3REASY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
zedbra, thanks for the pic and the tip on the inline fuse
OV3REASY is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 11:52 AM Thread Starter
Shift_lurker
 
OV3REASY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
any idea what size fuze, how many amps?
not sure if the type maters i.e. the glass fuse or atc?
thanks
OV3REASY is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 02:51 PM
Shift_Obsessed
 
bigdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,590
Thanks: 232
Thanked 227 Times in 164 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
You dont really need a fuse, just a connector. I bought a 2 wire connector from adv auto and did the same thing. Then splice it into the brake light wire inside the rear fender and your all set.


2006 SE CC 4x4 A/T: NISMO CAI, JBA Exhaust, Unichip PNP, Fabtech 6" Lift w/PRG UCA, Radflo 2.0, Bilstien 5125 & custom Alcan Springs, ProComp 7089 w/BFG AT T/A (295/75R16), ShrockWorks Skids & Bumpers, Warn M8000, Hella 500s, M226 (3.69) swap w/ARB Air Locker & Compressor, CW Billet Grilles...

“A government for the people must depend for its success on the intelligence, the morality, the justice, and the interest of the people themselves”. - Grover Cleveland

Bigdog's Build Thread
bigdog is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 03:39 PM
Shift_Obsessed
 
dubie2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 8,505
Thanks: 850
Thanked 596 Times in 519 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I know people have issues when they splice the wires for trailers but how are the wires holding up for just the extra brake light (LED probably)?

07 SE CC Auto
dubie2003 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 03:57 PM
Shift_Fanatic
 
bimmernut318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Panama City & Deland FL
Posts: 878
Thanks: 104
Thanked 66 Times in 63 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by OV3REASY View Post
any idea what size fuze, how many amps?
not sure if the type maters i.e. the glass fuse or atc?
thanks
what does the light draw? that is the size fuse that you need, maybe 7.5 amp fuse. either way it is always a good thing to fuse it, if you pinch a wire in the bed you have a good chance of just blowing that fuse instead of one in the fuse panel that will take out all your brake lights.
bimmernut318 is offline  
Reply

  Nissan Frontier Forum > Mods and Technical Discussions > DIY - Do It Yourself / Tech Tips

Quick Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On