Bully Dog for Dummies - Nissan Frontier Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 08-07-2013, 11:20 AM
Shift_Newbie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Bully Dog for Dummies

I just picked up a Bully Dog 40410 tuner with the basic intent of bumping the idle up a bit on my 2011 SV to solve the current low idle shake that is so prevalent on these trucks. Maybe it works, maybe it doesn't but it seem like a simple enough thing to try since I am out of Nissan options. However, as I search and read through some threads on this tuner they all read with a similar assumption of understanding just what these units can do. As a complete noob to this sort of thing, if you would indulge me, I thought I'd post a few questions to help bring me up to speed a bit. So I welcome all of your advice and opinions.

I do understand the need to download the software, unit updates and the like from the website so i am good there. But before I go plugging the unit into the truck interface and making any changes I better have an idea of what I might be getting into. I have also had a couple PM chats with a couple very nice forum members who have also provided some nice groundwork but I want to build on that. So here goes.

1) First and foremost, if I plug in and make any changes whatsoever to the current stock programming I can at any time revert back to that current stock state of programming, correct? And, perhaps just as important, just what state of stock does it revert to? What I mean by that is because I have had the latest TSB for the idle applied by the dealer would that be the point it reverts to or would it go back to the original stock programming?

2) For those of you that have used this unit, were there any warranty worries? Does using a unit like this risk voiding the factory warranty? I have read these leave traces of use even when returned to stock programming. Just curious what your experiences have been on this front